DHL Fastest Pit Stop Award

Formula 1®

A Formula 1® pit stop is much more than just stopping, changing tires and accelerating away. Perfect planning and absolute precision at breath taking speed are needed to get it right first time. Pit stops are possible the most visual evidence of why a Formula 1® is a team sport.

The DHL Fastest Pit Stop Award was established in 2015 to recognize outstanding teamwork and performance from the ‘unsung heroes’ who make a critically important contribution to the drivers’ success on the track.

Yas Marina Circuit

Formula 1 Etihad Airways Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Choose event

Fastest Pit Stop Video

Red Bull perform DHL Fastest Pit Stop in Abu Dhabi

Red Bull Racing completed the DHL Fastest Pit Stop in the Abu Dhabi season finale for the ninth time in the 2019 Formula 1 season. Max Verstappen was sent on his way in 2.06 seconds on the 25th lap – faster than any other contestant at the Yas Marina Circuit.

Red Bull had already wrapped up the 2019 DHL Fastest Pit Stop Award before the last race of the campaign and thus became the first team to defend the prestigious title. Second place in the standings went to Williams who, despite being likewise responsible for nine of the fastest pit stops in the year, were still second best to the overall consistency of Red Bull.

Red Bull set a world record for servicing no fewer than three times in the 2019, most recently in the Brazilian GP when Max Verstappen’s car was fitted with new tires in 1.82 seconds.

“I’m very proud of our team in the pit lane,” said Sporting Director Jonathan Wheatley upon being presented with the 2019 DHL Fastest Pit Stop Trophy. “Setting a new world record three times in a single season really is something special, we were focused on improving our performance and are proud to see our efforts rewarded!”

Read moreClose

2019 Season

Overall Standings

Fastest Pit Stops of the season

Season Averages

How the teams’ pit stop times improved during the course of the season

Select teams

Pit Stop World Record

2018 Season

All the stats, facts and figures for the 2018 DHL Fastest Pit Stop Award.

Red Bull Racing wins the
2018 DHL Fastest Pit Stop Award