Formula E

Las Vegas eRace: Formula E drivers vs. fans

The stars of the FIA Formula E Championship will take part in a virtual race in Las Vegas competing against ten fans in a bid to win a share of the biggest prize in eSports racing history.

This won’t be a normal Formula E race. Still, the electric racing series is well-known for doing things differently! Formula E will invite ten fans to the biggest eSports race in history at the start of January to compete against the 20 actual Formula E racing drivers such as Lucas di Grassi and Daniel Abt. The event will take place in the gambler’s paradise of Las Vegas, USA.

One million dollar prize pool

The qualifying segment, the "Road to Vegas", has lasted several weeks but is now over. The names of the ten finalists have been announced and they now have just under a month to prepare for the final round in Las Vegas. The eRace will take place January 7th 2017 at The Venetian Hotel as part of the Sports Business Innovation Summit at the Consumer Electronics Show (CES).

Gamers, welcome to Formula E – let’s race!

Alejandro Agag, CEO of Formula E

Alejandro Agag, CEO of Formula E, says: "All this will take place within CES, the world’s largest technology show, highlighting our commitment to fan engagement through innovation and technology. We believe eSports offers a new level of fan interaction and participation in sport, and we want to be at the forefront of this gaming revolution. Gamers, welcome to Formula E – let’s race!"

A top prize of 200,000 US dollar and a one million US dollar prize pool overall is at stake for those taking part - it is billed as the largest prize in eSports racing history. The virtual circuit, incorporating the famous Las Vegas Strip, will not be made public until the morning of the event to ensure that conditions are the same for all those in the fight for the top spot. The virtual race itself will be lasting 50 minutes.

Some former racing drivers figure among the eRacing drivers who have qualified, including Formula Ford 1600 champion Graham Carroll and David Greco. German 2014 GT Academy winner Marc Gassner also had a good chance of going through to the finale but missed out by a whisker.

The 2017 Las Vegas eRace finalists

  1. 1. Graham Carroll
  2. 2. Olli Pahkala
  3. 3. Greger Huttu
  4. 4. Enzo Bonito
  5. 5. David Greco
  6. 6. Bono Huis
  7. 7. Petar Brljak
  8. 8. Aleksi Uusi
  9. 9. Patrik Holzmann
  10. 10. Aleksi Elomaa

Posting Guidelines

All communications on Logistics of Things should be appropriate for a professional community, respecting the diverse views of individuals from different backgrounds. We will review all comments and reserve the right to terminate or restrict access to user's account and to delete any content posted through it, without notice and at our discretion, if we deem it to be overly promotional, offensive, or off topic.

All posting become property of DHL.