DHL Fastest Lap Award

Scoring a Formula 1® victory is all about speed; but is the winner always the fastest? Redefining our standards of speed, the DHL Fastest Lap Award is one for fierce competitors. This is how it works: one driver sets the fastest lap at each race - the award will go to the man who sets the most over the season.

To win will require pure speed – something we at DHL know all about. As the world's leading logistics provider and Official Logistics Partner of Formula 1, we achieve our goals by shortening international routes, facilitating global trade and making the world a smaller place.

Yas Marina Circuit

Formula 1 Etihad Airways Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2021

Choose event

Fastest Lap Video

Max Verstappen scores DHL Fastest Lap in nail-biting end to the season

Max Verstappen becomes the first Dutchman in the history of Formula One to be crowned champion of the world, overtaking his main opponent Lewis Hamilton on the very last lap of a season finale that could not have been more exhilarating. A late safety car had put the Red Bull driver into striking distance after the championship seemed all but decided in favor of Hamilton. While he was putting everything he had out there in pursuit of his rival, Verstappen also scored the DHL Fastest Lap of the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix with a 1:26.103 on Hard tires.

A superb Qualifying lap meant Verstappen started from pole position, but he had to concede the lead to Hamilton, who undeniably had the better start. As the pair went into Turn 6, the Mercedes ran wide, with Verstappen taking the lead for a few seconds before Hamilton rejoined the track way ahead of him. While the scene caused angry radio messages being passed back and forth, it remained without consequence.

Having started on Soft tires, Verstappen soon took to the radio, informing his engineer of the rubber starting to drop off. Red Bull soon reacted to their driver’s issues and called him in for a fresh set of Hards in the hope that he would have a better chance of chasing down Hamilton who was all but controlling the race, but Mercedes covered every move and prospects looked bleak for Verstappen.

A virtual safety car then gave Verstappen one last chance. He pitted again, hoping to chase down Hamilton on what now were much fresher Hard tires. Verstappen soon was going purple in all sectors and putting those Hards to good use, posting the DHL Fastest Lap of the race - a 1:26.103 on lap 39, and yet he wasn’t fast enough to catch the Mercedes.

It wasn’t until lap 54 when Nicholas Latifi crashed into the barriers and caused a safety car that Verstappen could stretch and grasp for the win that would give him the title. While his rival Lewis Hamilton was unable to use the yellow flag period to go and get a free pitstop, as he would’ve lost track position, Verstappen came in for a set of Softs and launched one final attack when the safety car ended, overtaking Hamilton for the win and the title.

Verstappen was overwhelmed by emotions after the race: “It was a bit of a rollercoaster, of course, from not really having a chance of winning, to the last lap when everything comes together, where you have to go for it and we did.”

Read moreClose

2021 Season

Pos.DriverTeamDHL Fastest Laps
1Lewis HamiltonMercedes6
2Max VerstappenRed Bull6
3Valtteri BottasMercedes4
4Sergio PerezRed Bull2
5Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri1
6Daniel RicciardoMcLaren1
7Lando NorrisMcLaren1

Previous winners

SeasonDriverTeamDHL Fastest Laps
2021Lewis HamiltonMercedes6
2020Lewis HamiltonMercedes6
2019Lewis HamiltonMercedes6
2018Valtteri BottasMercedes7
2017Lewis HamiltonMercedes7
2016Nico RosbergMercedes6
2015Lewis HamiltonMercedes8
2014Lewis HamiltonMercedes7
2013Sebastian VettelRed Bull7
2012Sebastian VettelRed Bull6
2011Mark WebberRed Bull7
2010Fernando AlonsoFerrari5
2009Sebastian VettelRed Bull3
2008Kimi RäikkönenFerrari10
2007Kimi RäikkönenFerrari6

All Positions

How the drivers' performance improved during the course of the season

Select Drivers

Formula 1® Logistics Hub

2020 Season

All the stats, facts and figures for the 2020 DHL Fastest Lap Award.