DHL Fastest Lap Award

Formula 1®

Every Formula One driver is fast, but is the race winner really the fastest? Since 2007 DHL has defined a new standard of speed with the 'DHL Fastest Lap Award'. One driver sets the fastest lap at each race - the award will go to the man who sets the most over the season. To win will require pure speed - something DHL, as the world's leading logistics provider and Official Logistics Partner of Formula 1, uses to achieve its goals, shortening international routes, facilitiating global trade and making the world a smaller place.

Yas Marina Circuit

Formula 1 Etihad Airways Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Choose event

Fastest Lap Video

Lewis Hamilton sets DHL Fastest Lap in Abu Dhabi

World champion Lewis Hamilton once again emphasized his Formula 1 dominance by clocking a sixth DHL Fastest Lap of the 2019 season in the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. The Mercedes man rounded the Yas Marina Circuit on Lap 53 in a time of 1:39.28 seconds, breaking the previous record set ten years ago by Sebastian Vettel.

Before the race began, Hamilton received the 2019 DHL Fastest Lap Award from DHL Express CEO John Pearson. Hamilton’s four trophies take him to the top of the DHL Fastest Lap Award all-time winners. He is now clear of Vettel, who was previously level with him on three.

“Fastest lap has a different importance this year because it’s another point in the championship, so it has a bigger meaning from now on,” said Hamilton. “It has been fun to chase the purple times at the end of the races, and I have had some really good laps – I can remember Silverstone, on older tyres and really pushing to the limit right before the chequered flag, in front of my home fans. The extra point has added some spice to the final laps of the races and it’s pretty cool that we’ve done a good job this year in that area.”

Second place in the 2019 DHL Fastest Lap Award went to Charles Leclerc on four best times, followed by Valtteri Bottas and Max Verstappen on three. In the season that has just come to a close, a total of seven drivers set at least one fastest race lap.

Read moreClose

2019 Season

Previous winners

SeasonDriverTeamDHL Fastest Laps
2019Lewis HamiltonMercedes6
2018Valtteri BottasMercedes7
2017Lewis HamiltonMercedes7
2016Nico RosbergMercedes6
2015Lewis HamiltonMercedes8
2014Lewis HamiltonMercedes7
2013Sebastian VettelRed Bull7
2012Sebastian VettelRed Bull6
2011Mark WebberRed Bull7
2010Fernando AlonsoFerrari5
2009Sebastian VettelRed Bull3
2008Kimi RäikkönenFerrari10
2007Kimi RäikkönenFerrari6

All Positions

How the drivers' performance improved during the course of the season

Select Drivers

2018 Season

All the stats, facts and figures for the 2018 DHL Fastest Lap Award.

Valtteri Bottas wins the
2018 DHL Fastest Lap Award